“Your data belongs to us!”, says Facebook

Facebook’s terms of service (TOS) used to say that when you closed an account on their network, any rights they claimed to the original content you uploaded would expire. Not anymore.

Now, anything you upload to Facebook can be used by Facebook in any way they deem fit, forever, no matter what you do later. Want to close your account? Good for you, but Facebook still has the right to do whatever it wants with your old content. They can even sublicense it if they want.

Facebook’s New Terms Of Service: "We Can Do Anything We Want With Your Content. Forever." [Consumerist]

(Updated)

Facebook should take a long, deep look into how it treats its users. Until now, users had options with regards to how the data they generated on Facebook was used. Now, they have no options whatsoever, rather than quit the service altogether. It’s a major difference; I’m not going to take it lightly, and neither should you

Facebook: All Your Stuff is Ours, Even if You Quit [Mashable]

 

I don’t like a service I can’t opt-out or claims ownership rights over my contents. I never really had contents directly in Facebook, I prefer to use specific services like Flickr and then import the data into aggregator services, but from now on I will highly restrict the contents added, including external applications that import data into Facebook.

Advertisements
Tagged , , , ,

One thought on ““Your data belongs to us!”, says Facebook

  1. […] in the public domain. Here is more disturbing news about Facebook from Mashable : The Consumerist “Your data belongs to us!”, says Facebook – anchorite.wordpress.com 02/16/2009 Facebook’s terms of service (TOS) used to say that when you […]

Leave a comment / Deixe um comentário

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: